Home › Guides › EV chargers
Québec EV charger rebate: what you can actually get
$600 at home, up to $5,000 in a multi-unit building. What’s covered, what isn’t, and the conditions that cost honest people their rebate.
In short
- $600 off the purchase price of a home EV charger, installation not included. It’s a flat amount.
- Since April 1, 2026, only connected chargers are eligible. That’s trap number one.
- The charger must be on the official list of eligible models. Check it before you buy.
- Electrical work upstream of the charger isn’t covered: if your panel needs an upgrade, that cost is yours.
- In a multi-unit building: up to $5,000 for an individual charger.
In this guide
The Quebec EV charger rebate comes from a program called Écorecharge. It replaced the charger component of Roulez vert, and its rules changed in 2026. Enough that honest people lose their $600 by buying the wrong charger.
Everything below was checked against the program’s official pages on September 11, 2026. The rules change: check again before you spend money counting on an amount.
How much exactly
| Situation | Amount | What it covers |
|---|---|---|
| A charger at your home | $600 | Buying the charger, installation not included |
| An individual charger in your building’s parking area | Up to $5,000 | Your own charger, in a multi-unit building |
| Electrical upgrade of a building | 50%, max $120,000 | The infrastructure, for the building owner |
The $600 is a flat amount. It doesn’t go up if your installation costs $2,500 instead of $1,750, and it doesn’t go down either. There’s only one price condition: the charger itself must cost more than $600 before taxes.
What’s covered and what isn’t
This is the most expensive mix-up, and it fits in one sentence: the program pays for the device, not for the house that has to adapt to receive it.
| Expense | Covered? |
|---|---|
| Buying the charger | Yes |
| Installing the charger and its circuit | No |
| Electrical panel upgrade | No |
| Rebuilding the service entrance | No |
| Trench to a detached garage | No |
| Taxes | No |
The conditions that cost people the rebate
None of these conditions is a trick in itself. People miss them because nobody reads them before buying.
The charger must be connected
This is the biggest change, and the least known. Since April 1, 2026, only connected chargers are eligible: chargers that can receive, send and process commands remotely. A perfectly good charger with no connectivity no longer qualifies for anything.
It must be on the official list
The program publishes a list of eligible models. A model that isn’t on the list isn’t eligible, even if it checks every other box. Check the list before you buy, not after.
Level 2, 208 or 240 volts
The charger must allow Level 2 charging. A simple Level 1 cable plugged into a regular outlet isn’t eligible.
New, from a Canadian retailer
Purchase or long-term lease, with a 36-month minimum for a lease. A used charger, or one bought abroad, doesn’t qualify.
You must own the vehicle
When you apply, you must own your electric vehicle and the charger must be installed at your home. The invoices must be in the vehicle owner’s name.
Two date exclusions
- A charger obtained before January 1, 2024 isn’t eligible.
- Equipment acquired between February 1 and March 31, 2025 (the period when Roulez vert was suspended) isn’t eligible either.
How to apply
You apply after the work is done, online, with supporting documents. The rebate isn’t deducted from what you pay the electrician.
What you need on hand:
- The charger’s purchase invoice, in your name
- Proof of installation: the electrician’s invoice
- The vehicle identification number and the licence plate number
There’s no maximum delay between buying the vehicle and applying, but two things must still be true: you must still own the vehicle, and the program must still be running. That’s the only real reason not to wait.
What your city adds on top
Québec’s $600 isn’t always the last word. Nine municipalities in the region pay an extra amount, from $100 to $250, on top of the provincial rebate. You still have to know your city offers one, and apply in time.
The money runs out. Almost all of these cities write “until the budgeted funds run out.” Deux-Montagnes even puts a number on its envelope: $10,000 per fiscal year. A complete application doesn’t guarantee the money. It guarantees your file will be reviewed, if the budget isn’t already empty.
Deadlines are short, and different everywhere. 90 days in Blainville, three months in Saint-Eustache, six months in Terrebonne and Deux-Montagnes, 180 days in Boisbriand. In some cities the clock starts at purchase, in others when the work is finished. That’s the number one reason these amounts get lost: people find out too late.
You need a licensed contractor. Saint-Eustache, Boisbriand, Deux-Montagnes, Mascouche and Repentigny require it in black and white. Repentigny also asks for the certified electrician’s invoice, and Blainville strongly recommends a licensed electrician. A charger installed by a handy friend means the municipal rebate is gone.
Here are the 25 municipalities in the table, checked one by one on each city’s own website on September 12, 2026. Where a city publishes one, the amount links to its official page (in French).
| City | Extra amount | Main conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Saint-Eustache | $250 | Apply within 3 months after the work is finished. Licensed electrician required. Until the budgeted funds run out. |
| Joliette | 25% of costs, up to $250 per charger | Apply within 3 months after the provincial grant is approved. Licensed electrician required. Cap of $500 per building per fiscal year. Electrical infrastructure work counts toward eligible costs. |
| Repentigny | $150 | Deadline not specified. Licensed electrician required: the certified electrician’s installation invoice is required, with before-and-after photos. |
| Boucherville | $150 | Apply by April 1, 2027. The charger must have been installed between December 8, 2020 and December 31, 2026. Provincial grant approval required before you apply. Licensed electrician: not specified. |
| Boisbriand | $125 per charger | Apply within 180 days after the work is finished. Licensed electrician required. One charger per single-family home, up to 3 for a building with 7 or more units. First come, first served. |
| Blainville | $100 | Apply within 90 days of the charger’s purchase date. Licensed electrician recommended. One grant per civic address. Paid by cheque in 6 to 8 weeks. Photo of the installed charger required. |
| Deux-Montagnes | $100 per unit | Apply within 6 months after installation. Licensed electrician required. Budget of $10,000 per fiscal year: the help stops once it’s used up. Charger acquired after March 31, 2022. |
| Terrebonne | $100 maximum | Installation done within the 6 months before you apply. Tops up the provincial grant: the City pays what’s left, up to $100. Residential, non-commercial properties only. Licensed electrician: not specified. |
| Mascouche | $100 | Current-year expenses. Licensed electrician required. One charger per unit, maximum 2 chargers per roll number. |
| Montréal | $370 per unit, but only within a renovation project | Not a stand-alone grant for a charger. RénoPlex is a renovation program: you must apply for at least $3,000 in grants, for a building with 1 to 5 units, under property value thresholds. |
| Laval | None | 13 grant programs offered, none for an EV charger. |
| Mirabel | None | The City had a program in 2019-2020. It no longer exists: none of the 7 current programs covers a charger. |
| Saint-Jérôme | None | The City no longer offers help for a charger. The old page was removed. |
| Sainte-Thérèse | None | 6 programs offered, none for an EV charger. |
| Rosemère | None | 5 programs offered, none for an EV charger. |
| Longueuil | None | Housing and seniors’ assistance programs only, none for a charger. |
| Brossard | None | 11 programs offered, none for an EV charger. |
| Sainte-Adèle | None | No charger grant page in the City’s site map. |
| Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts | None | 7 environmental grants offered, none for a charger. |
| Mont-Tremblant | None | Eco-friendly programs offered, none for an EV charger. |
| Lachute | None | 3 programs offered, none for an EV charger. |
| Sainte-Sophie | None | The Municipality has public chargers, but no grant for a home charger. |
| Montebello | None | No charger grant page in the Municipality’s site map. |
| Montréal, Saint-Laurent borough | None | The grant for household eco-friendly equipment doesn’t cover EV chargers. The City of Montréal’s RénoPlex program, however, does apply. |
| Bois-des-Filion | Unknown | An amount was offered in the past, but the City no longer publishes anything about it. Check with the City at 450 621-1460 before counting on it. |
Montréal is a special case. The City pays $370 per unit for the electrical work that connects a charger, but through RénoPlex, which is a renovation program. You must apply for at least $3,000 in grants in total, in a building with 1 to 5 units, under property value thresholds. Nobody qualifies with a charger alone.
The cities that give nothing
Checked one by one on each city’s own grant page, on September 12, 2026: Laval, Mirabel, Saint-Jérôme, Sainte-Thérèse, Rosemère, Longueuil, Brossard, Sainte-Adèle, Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, Mont-Tremblant, Lachute, Sainte-Sophie, Montebello and Montréal’s Saint-Laurent borough. In these cities, the provincial rebate is the only one there is.
Two of them used to have one. Mirabel paid out more than 70 grants in 2019-2020, and Saint-Jérôme removed its assistance page. Both programs are over. If someone tells you otherwise, they’re reading an old list.
Bois-des-Filion: we don’t know. An amount was offered in the past, but the City no longer publishes anything about it. Check with the City at 450 621-1460 before counting on it. We’d rather say so than quote an amount that’s no longer published anywhere.
These amounts change. Funding renews with each municipal budget, and programs close: Boucherville’s ends at the end of 2026. This table was checked on September 12, 2026, city by city, on each one’s website. Before you apply, two minutes on the phone with your city never hurts.
Ready to get prices?
We look, we price it, and the price is in writing before anything starts.
Send my quote requestIf you live in a multi-unit building
There are two components, and they aren’t for the same people.
You’re a tenant or a condo owner and you want your own charger in the parking area: up to $5,000 to buy and install an individual charger. That’s much more than the $600 for a house, because the installation is much heavier.
You own the building: the infrastructure component pays 50% of eligible expenses, up to $120,000 per building, before taxes. Oversizing the electrical panel is explicitly eligible. It’s the only program in Québec that directly pays for panel work.
The key condition: the work must make at least 50% of the spaces reserved for residents ready for a charger. Visitor spaces don’t count toward that threshold.
Frequently asked questions
Is my panel upgrade covered?
Not at home. The $600 applies to the price of the charger only, not to its installation. If the load calculation shows your panel needs an upgrade, that cost is yours. In a multi-unit building, it’s the opposite: oversizing the panel is eligible under the infrastructure component.
Do I really need a connected charger?
Yes. Since April 1, 2026, only connected chargers are eligible: chargers that can receive and process commands remotely. It’s the first thing to check before you buy, along with the official list of models.
Can I apply after the fact?
You have to apply after the installation, so yes. There’s no maximum delay, but you must still own the vehicle and the program must still be running. A charger obtained before January 1, 2024 isn’t eligible.
Does the rebate lower my electrician’s bill?
No. You pay for the installation in full, then you apply with the invoices. The amount is then paid to you directly.
What if I move?
When you apply, the charger must be installed at your home and you must own the vehicle. If you move before applying, apply before you leave. A charger can often be removed and reinstalled elsewhere, but the rebate requires the charger to be installed at your home.
Can I buy a used charger?
No. The charger must be bought new from a Canadian retailer, purchased or leased for 36 months or more, and the invoice must be in your name.
How long before I get paid?
That depends on the program and on how many applications are being processed, not on us. What we control is that your file goes in complete the first time: detailed invoice, proof of installation, nothing to track down.
Need a charger installed?
We do the load calculation first, and we give you a detailed invoice in the form the program requires. Your application goes in complete the first time.
4.9 from 469 Google reviews · Régie du bâtiment du Québec (RBQ) licence 5815-0137-01 · Members of the Corporation des maîtres électriciens du Québec (CMEQ) · Detailed quote at no charge
Sources
The figures and requirements in this guide come from the official pages below, consulted on September 11, 2026. Programs change: check the page’s last update date before you spend any money.